The Perfect Gift

packagesChristmas lights…check.

Tree’s up…check.

Decorations out…check.

Shopping done…well almost and there’s the problem. What to give? Someone on the list seems always to present a challenge of what to give and it’s not always the same person. Years ago, I learned my idea of what they need or want contrasts sharply with what they hope for this Christmas.

Before we married for Christmas one year, I gave Kelly a sewing machine. She loved it! Another year, I bought her a set of china, which we still have. Again, she loved it, so I concluded, she wants practical, things-I-can-use gifts! Our first Christmas as newlyweds, I gave her something that plugged in. I can’t even remember what it was as I have suppressed the memory deep within. I recall only that the item was purposeful and useful in the kitchen but not the right gift.

Seeking the perfect gift may reflect our desire for peace at Christmas. As a parent you want to hear the excitement of your children as they receive their gift. You search for visual or verbal confirmations of your gift-giving skills.

Often, we seek a peace bound up in circumstance. We seek out a recipe which when closely followed will bring a peaceful Christmas day and as the day falls so close to New Year’s, we hope this peace will carry over to the new year as well. Yet too often peace gets packed up as we put away the decorations and take down the lights and the tree.

The angelic declaration to the shepherds proclaims says “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.” According to the angels, peace comes only to those ‘on whom his favor rests.’ Now, this passage has been translated in many ways.

The New International Version has “…and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests,” which seems a bit arbitrary. The Common English Bible has “…and on earth peace among those whom he favors,” which seems to cast a broader net. The New Living Translation has “…and peace on earth to those with whom God is pleased,” which seems to depend on my behavior. The International Standard Version has “…and peace on earth to people who enjoy his favor!,” which seems to capture the meaning best.

His favor is not so much arbitrary as it is abundant. Consider the parable of the sower Jesus shared. The sower extravagantly broadcasts the seed on good soil and bad, alongside the road and on the road, and in fertile soil and rocky soil. So God favors humanity, all humanity. God takes pleasure in us not because of our performance but rather as a loving creator and heavenly Father. God, the abundant, even wasteful sower of seed, freely spreads his favor or mercy including those who would not receive it.

All  this may be true, yet I still miss it. Peace. His peace too often escapes me. I seek it in ‘paper, packages and bows’ or I attempt to arrange it through controlling my circumstances or situation or even the people in my life. I attempt to fabricate peace or manipulate my way.

The angels sang, “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.” The first Christmas carol, the first Hallelujah chorus, reminds us peace comes from heaven not from earth and certainly not from amazon.com! Neither does peace come from my wrangling or negotiations.

Peace on earth comes on those who enjoy his favor. God gave a perfect gift. Perhaps this is why we try to find the perfect gift to those we love. God’s favor, abundant and available, rests on us. My challenge, and perhaps yours, comes in resting in his favor. Resting in this peace and knowing that this peace, too often, is a gift unopened at Christmas or any other time.

So as you wrap up those last minute gifts, complete the decorations and prepare for the celebration, enjoy God’s favor and find peace this Christmas!

Leave a comment