Amazing

_1110826Amazing! Babies amaze me. Each one I hold, talk with, cuddle and rock amaze me! During Thanksgiving my amazement continued playing, walking, and exploring with my grandchildren. Listening to them talk, playing with their cousins, or just watching them sleep—amazing! The range of their ages from newly born to over 14 amazes and shocks me. Am I really this old?

Bella our oldest granddaughter, now 14, but moments ago she was this cuddly, little, cute baby wrapped in a blanket with eyes that captured you, now I see a young woman and I am amazed, encouraged, and a little scared! Watching her grow I could see much of her mother in her eyes and behaviors but still like every child her unique character and personality…amazing.

Her youngest cousin, Adaline, not quite four months old, could not keep up with her but never did we expect it. She’s not old enough. She lacks maturity and she should she’s only a baby!

A child born brings hope, laughter and joy. Gazing at each of my babies, I remember this intense feeling of gratitude. But a child born also brings concern. We carefully watch their growth and while we anticipate their maturity, we know life sometimes surprises us, so diligently we parent them toward maturity.

Paul talks about babies as he instructs believers in Ephesus and urges us toward maturity so that “…we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming” (Ephesians 4:14).

Pursuing faithfulness calls us to “live a life worthy of the calling you have received,” which Paul defines in this way: “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace” (Ephesians 4:1-3).

Tis’ the season to celebrate birth especially of one who loved so much that he came wrapped in swaddling clothes but grew “in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and man” (Luke 2:52). While we are celebrating this birth and the accompanying amazement, why not consider the questions concerning our own maturity.

As the old quote goes, “It’s possible to grow old in the Lord and never grow up!”

Some questions to ponder…

Am I living a life worthy of the calling I have received?

Would people describe me as gentle, humble, or patient?

Pursuing faithfulness demands putting off childish ways and taking up attitudes and actions of Kingdom Citizens.

Leave a comment